13 weeks to Ironman

Yesterday’s Jailbreak a 2.2km swim, 100km cycle and a 25km run was tough.  Having completed 60% of an Ironman distance successfully, one after the other, I’m chuffed that I have it under my belt.  Jailbreak was tough but it gave me the opportunity to identify my weakness, display foolishness and join the ranks of ultra-triathlon-finishers.

 

In a nutshell, I’m surprised by my swim, elated with my cycle and severely disappointed with my run.  I will back off on the cycle during Ironman and approach the marathon with a set game-plan.  I will incorporate some power walks into my upcoming long runs so that all muscle groups are conditioned.

 

Christmas is on the horizon.  I’m away but wetsuit, bike and running shoes have all been packed.

 

See you in the New Year.

TrackBack Identifier URI

  • Weekly diary