5 weeks to Ironman

My recovery week was mirrored by an intensely busy work week that kept my mind off how little I was doing. 

 

Two 15-hour weeks are what’s left on my training plan with a gentle taper to race day.  It’s hard to believe that it’s been eight months…

 

One and a half hour cycles in the beginning were stressed about, now they’re not worth getting out of bed for.  Gentle 45-min runs left me gasping for air, now they’re admin. 

 

The change in mindset has been challenging but worth every step.  The change in my body has been phenomenal and the benefits of the past eight months will live with me for the rest of my life, not just the physical benefits but the emotional benefits.  My mind is stronger. 

 

Race day is looming and I am prepared.  What keeps me awake at night is setting the next goal ‘after Ironman’ and I constantly rack my brain and question why I waited so long to embark on this incredible journey? 

TrackBack Identifier URI

  • Weekly diary