25 weeks to Ironman

RECOVERY WEEK – that’s all I need to say.

 

Bags were packed, bikes loaded and three ubër-babes descended on the quiet town of Clan William for an action-packed weekend, a mini-triathlon (800m swim, 20km cycle, 5km run) within the Ironman training plan.

 

Registration was a breeze and watched with pride as friend Michele ventured out on her second Duathlon (5km run, 20km cycle, 5km run), an inspiration in itself. 

 

Cocoons where hatched while lining up for the start of the swim and no amount of breathing could quell them.  Twenty minutes later I was back on dry land thinking two things:

 

1.        It wasn’t that bad.

2.        Add another 3km………..

 

My strength has been revealed and it was with surprise I caught and overtook a few competitors on the cycle that came out of the swim ahead of me (phew). 

 

The run went better than expected and I’m amazed and thrilled with my overall time of 30-minutes.  Better than I ever thought!

 

The day ended on a high note – staying partying until way after 12am………….. Getting up for the scheduled 1.5 hour ride the next morning was easier than I imagined.  The hill at the end however, wasn’t. 

 

A memorable weekend filled with laughter, fun, intermingled with a bit of training

TrackBack Identifier URI

  • Weekly diary